Progression File

PROGRESSION FILE

ILLUSTRATION –

Career path options:

  • Architecture: illustrators draw pictures of buildings based on architect’s plans.
  • Art: illustrators might draw pictures for children’s books and magazines or design exhibition posters.
  • Commercial: illustrators design logos and images for brands and advertising campaigns.
  • Engineering: illustrators might draw diagrams for civil engineering projects or car engines for instruction manuals
  • Medical: illustrators draw detailed pictures of the human body to help doctors with education and research
  • Product design: illustrators draw prototypes of new products and inventions
  • Science: illustrators might draw images and diagrams of anything from microscopic atoms to enormous planets

Examples of different Jobs on offer for illustration:

Possible University Courses:

  • Falmouth University, Entry Requirements: 104 – 120 UCAS points, course: Illustration
  • Falmouth University, Entry Requirements: 104 – 120 UCAS points, course: Creative Advertising
  • Camberwell College of Arts in London, Entry Requirements: BTEC Extended Diploma, course: Illustration
  • International Summer Academy of Fine Arts in Venice, Entry Requirements: portfolio work, course: Artist Career
  • London Met University, Entry Requirements: 112 UCAS points, course: Illustration

Creating My Own Craft Store:

In Summer 2016 I decided to produce my own products using my mandala inspired designs. I booked to have a stall at a Craft Fair in Kenya. This fair targets all age groups and is located at a beach resort meaning that both locals and tourists have access.

I decided to focus on creating three main products as I didn’t want to set unrealistic goals. After a lot of research into products and what was popular this year I decided to include cards, tote bags and bookmarks. All of these products are both affordable and popular. I had 30 cards in stock, 15 bags and 10 bookmarks. Overall the cards and bookmarks were a huge success as they both sold out. The bags were also successful as I was only left with 5 when I shut the stall.

14073177_295618190797974_1746060634_n

I also decided to include my original designs at my stall, some framed to give an example of how they would look in that set up. The originals weren’t as successful as the products as they weren’t as affordable. However a few did sell. 13694698_167868563621367_1810419657_n

For both the bags and the cards I decided to incorporate three different designs to add variety. As a theme I focused mainly on wildlife and sea creatures. For the bags I felt it was important to keep the bags sea themed as they would suit as a beach bag. I had a fish design, turtle and seahorse on the bags and for the cards I had a whale tale, giraffe and elephant.

13671234_1926265690933613_1059468795_n

Overall I think it was a great idea to join this craft fair as not only did it get my name out there (through my business cards) it also taught me more about working in the art world. I was also able to learn from other stalls at the fair; items that they were selling and their set ups, what stalls did well and what didn’t.

Portfolio:

What to include –

  • Africa Christmas Cards
  • Bird Book Designs – 2 pages
  • Fruit Study
  • Large Mandala Piece
  • Pencil Work
  • Fish, Crab & Jellyfish

statement

Another option for a short course that I could do would be a film course. I have been looking at various different Film universities and the two that stood out to me most was MET FILM SCHOOL and CITY ACADEMY. Both these two universities offer various different film courses, the one that looks the most interesting is The Documentary & Filmmaking course. These two courses are both located in London which would mean finding accommodation there which is always quite expensive. There is also a 10 week short film course at The Plymouth College of Art which could equally be a good choice. The course in Plymouth is significantly cheaper and more accessible. The course components:

  • Storytelling techniques, as well insights into directing, rhythm and pace in documentary work
  • Different visual styles in documentary films and their effects
  • How to research and plan documentaries
  • Storyboarding and creating a convincing narrative
  • How to capture great sound when making a documentary
  • How to plan and get the most out of interview subjects
  • Editing video and audio, introduction to Final Cut Pro X

I think taking this course will be extremely beneficial because it will open up my opportunities. I have always been interested in film and I think this would be a good qualification to have combined with illustration.

Continue to work on promoting my art through social media:

untitled

For the past year I have been promoting my artwork on instagram and this has evidently been successful. Gaining over 13,000 followers has shown me just how effective social media can be and I definitely plan on continuing with this prospect. By focusing on instagram I was motivated to open up my own online store on etsy as I saw this as a great opportunity to do so. I started off just selling my designs printed onto cards:

15258575_900050573464961_7547861567623135232_n

These products proved to be extremely popular so I decided to take it one step further and start printing my designs onto tote bags (a great market for it now as of the recent 5p charge on shopping bags) I also decided to sell prints of my work which is also available on my etsy. I think that regardless of what I decide to do after finishing this course I will still continue with producing and selling my own individual products because not only do I enjoy it but it is a great small way to make a bit of extra income.

An Option For Starting My Own Business:

Prince’s Trust is a youth charity in Plymouth that supports 13 – 30 year olds who are unemployed. Three in four young people supported by this trust move into work, education or training. Prince’s Trust has different programmes that I could get involved with for free. They offer an enterprise programme where by I would be given support with my business plan, training and funding and have the opportunity to receive guidance from an experienced business mentor.

Another programme that could be useful is the ‘Get into’ programme which offers intensive training and work experience opportunities.

I believe that the Enterprise programme would be very useful to me as I would be given the support needed to start up selling products professionally. The course is for four days and because I will possibly be coming back to Plymouth in September to do a film course it fits in perfectly. The dates that they offer that suit me are either from the 12th September or from the 14th November.

MY CV: 

untitledh

Career Advice: 

I have found an extremely useful website called Prospects that guides students to find their perfect job by matching your skills and personality. They show you different options from work experience to working abroad as well as internships in the area you like. This website lets you  take out a test that allows them to match jobs that they think would suit you best, they then provide necessary info on the job including work hours, salary and qualifications.

After doing the test the jobs that were recommended to me were:

  • Social Researcher:
    • working on a range of research projects and employing a variety of different research methodologies (if undertaking research internally);
    • discussing and agreeing project requirements with clients (policy officials, ministers);
    • drafting research specifications;
    • agreeing the terms of reference for research;
    • commissioning and project-managing research projects;
    • commenting on draft research instruments, such as questionnaires, and editing draft reports;
    • conducting, or commissioning then analysing, in-depth interviews with members of the public and large-scale data sets;
    • managing junior staff (supervising, encouraging and mentoring);
    • ensuring that research is conducted within a set time frame to meet policy requirements;
    • managing competitive tendering exercises.
  • Exhibition Designer:
    • liaising with clients to discuss the brief (themes, ideas or products to be promoted);
    • discussing the brief and design concepts with the design team, finalising proposals and presenting these to clients;
    • developing a genuine understanding of the client’s brand, products, needs and objectives, as well as the motivations behind customers’ buying decisions;
    • working on quotes – once the design brief and concept are established, the costs need to be calculated to make sure the project is financially viable;
    • creating initial design sketches and computer-generated three-dimensional visuals, sometimes building models and prototypes.
  • Interior and Spacial Designer:
    • develop initial ideas and acquire key information about potential projects, discuss requirements in detail with clients (the brief) and set project schedules;
    • understand clients’ needs and the needs of the people using the building to develop design concepts and establish final briefs;
    • consider materials and costs according to set budgets and negotiate project fees;
    • conduct feasibility studies for projects.

Although these jobs might not necessarily be what I am interested in it is still useful to know what possibilities are out there and what jobs I suite.

Leave a Reply

