experimentation

Drawing on Wood

As I have decided to use white ink onto wood I thought it was time to experiment with different white ink pens to see which was the most successful when used on wood. I first sourced a piece of scrap wood.

  1. For the first experiment I used a uniball white fineliner. The results were not as successful as I would have hoped. The pen was difficult to draw with as it scratched along the wood making the ink come out sporadically.
  2. The second pen I used was a posca paint pen which came out very effectively with great results. It was easy to draw with and is definitely going to be the ink pen that I will be using for the designs. The nib is also fairly thin so detail will still be able to be achieved on the wood.

IMG_3085.JPG

After practicing some different designs onto wood it is evident that some of the details that I normally include on paper will not be successful when executed onto wood this means that I may have to adjust my style and make some of the spaces more simple. Although I have never drawn on wood I am extremely excited by this new experimentation and could definitely see myself using this in my future projects.

 

Leave a Reply

